BRATS – Doudatte yokatta

Heavy duty rock from BRATS

With the release today of their first full-length album, rock outfit BRATS Have unveiled a new video for ‘Doudatte yokatta’.

The album comes along at a point where the rock trio have been keeping a steady pace in recent times. In February, they revealed a video for their popular live tune ‘Kimarigoto’, which followed on from ‘Nounai Shoukyo Game’ (‘Brain Erase Game’) featured in the soundtrack of Japanese film Slaveman, directed by Noboru Iguchi (Machine Girl).

As previously reported, BRATS founder-member Rei Kuromiyama has had to deal with plenty of ups and downs in her musical efforts previously. Having had to deal with throat problems, coupled with her departure from The Idol Formerly Known As LADYBABY, have all taken their toll. But now able to focus exclusively on BRATS can only be a good thing for Rei and her fellow band members – sister Aya (bass) and Hinako (guitar).

‘Doudatte yokatta’ sees BRATS adopting a much heavier approach than previous releases, a concept given form with the imposing concrete walls featured in the video. It’s certainly a tune that’s going to give the band some clout and, along with the release of their new album, is likely to gain them new fans who might not have previously been exposed to the rock trio.

The track listing for new album BRATS will feature:

01. Pain
02. Kaihou Seyo
03. Doudatte yokatta
04. Unfair
05. Lost Place
06. Kimarigoto
07. Big Bad World
08. Seitoka Pride Monster
09. Nounai Shoukyo Game
10. Ainikoiyo

A bonus DVD will be available as part of a limited edition version (along with a 24-page booklet):
01. Ainikoiyo
02. Nounai Shoukyo Game
03. Kimarigoto
04. Doudatte yokatta
05. Kaihou Seyo

BRATS is released 25th July 2018 on the Fabtone label.