KYARY PAMYU PAMYU’s third album release will be titled Pika Pika Fantajin and is due for release in July.

Pika Pika Fantajin’s title is based around a combination of ‘fantasy’ and ‘person’ (‘Fantajin’). The album, which follows on from 2013’s Nanda Collection release, collects Kyary’s more recent single releases including ‘Mottai Night Land’, ‘Yume no Hajimarinrin’ and ‘Family Party’. The album will also feature forthcoming single ‘Kira Kira Killer’ and a cover version of Capsule’s ‘Do Do Pi Do’ (which featured on Capsule’s 2005 album L.D.K. Lounge Designers Killer).

The track listing for Pika Pika Fantajin is as follows:
01. Pika Pika Fantajin
02. Kira Kira Killer
03. Yume no Hajima Ring Ring (album mix)
04. Mottai Night Land
05. Serious Hitomi
06. Do Do Pi Do
07. Family Party (album mix)
08. Ring a Bell
09. Tokyo Highway
10. Koi Koi Koi
11. Sungoi Aura (album mix)
12. Explorer

For reference, here’s the original Capsule version of ‘Do Do Pi Do’:

The album will be issued in three distinct flavours: the desirable first press edition will feature Kyary’s ‘NANDA COLLECTION WORLD TOUR 2014’ DVD documentary, which will come in 2 different versions spread across both A and B releases of the first issue. A Normal version is also available for those that don’t mind the ‘kids’ laughing at them.

The scary-haired one also issued a message to accompany the album’s release: “This album is cute and packed with lots of shiny and sparkly stuff! A lot of the songs on this album are new, and written especially for this release. so I think this is something that can be enjoyed by anyone. Since I turned 21 this year, I tried to show my more mature side in the album booklet as well. I hope everyone likes it. I packed this album with my own fantasy and imagination so please take a listen!”

Pika Pika Fantajin is due for release on 9th July 2014. Single release ‘Kira Kira Killer’ is out on 11th June 2014.


Text by Paul Browne

31st May 2014