pika3KYARY PAMYU PAMYU’s third album release Pika Pika Fantajin will be seeing releases in countries outside of Japan – including the UK.

Record label Warner Music Japan will be releasing the album in Taiwan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Australia, UK, France, Germany, Spain, America, Canada and Mexico. The global releases will feature lyric cards in English as well as a 20 page photo book.


The decision to release Pika Pika Fantajin globally has clearly been influenced by the reaction to Kyary’s popularity abroad, including sell-out concerts on her world tour. The fact that Perfume’s LEVEL3 album received similar treatment is also a very probable factor of influence, particularly given the Japanese record industry’s desire to explore non-domestic markets.

In the UK the album is currently available to pre-order via Amazon for £11.99, while a digital version can also be pre-ordered via iTunes at £5.99. The iTunes release also includes additional track ‘Pika Pika Fantamix’.

The title of Pika Pika Fantajin is based around a combination of ‘fantasy’ and ‘person’ (‘Fantajin’). The album, which follows on from 2013’s Nanda Collection release, collects Kyary’s more recent single releases including ‘Mottai Night Land’, ‘Yume no Hajimarinrin’ and ‘Family Party’. The album will also feature latest single ‘Kira Kira Killer’ and a cover version of Capsule’s ‘Do Do Pi Do’ (which featured on Capsule’s 2005 album L.D.K. Lounge Designers Killer).

The track listing for Pika Pika Fantajin is as follows:
01. Pika Pika Fantajin
02. Kira Kira Killer
03. Yume no Hajima Ring Ring (album mix)
04. Mottai Night Land
05. Serious Hitomi
06. Do Do Pi Do
07. Family Party (album mix)
08. Ring a Bell
09. Tokyo Highway
10. Koi Koi Koi
11. Sungoi Aura (album mix)
12. Explorer

Pika Pika Fantajin is due for release on 9th July 2014 (Amazon 14th July).

Source: Natalie


Text by Paul Browne
1st July 2014